“True love looks at you with eyes full of Hope …”

Celebration of Mass in Columbia


 

In Rome, 16th February in 1987, our holy pope, Jean Paul II, said to the two brothers the following words: “Go and tell them that the Church and myself, we love them”.

Nine years earlier, the brothers began helping the “Sœurs Adoratrices” (the Adoring Sisters) with their mission, in the midsts of the streets of Bogota, to assist young girls and women to escape the infernal world of prostitution.

Father Pierre among some “chicas”


In Armenia, after an earthquake. Sisters are walking uphill.

Father Talvas, who set up the association « Le Nid en France » (The Nest in France), in 1943, said the following about the brothers: “Among all the priests that I know, you are the best placed to help these people. You have spent your lives with leprosy sufferers, who are so terribly poor and excluded from society, and all of this has been the best learning experience ! In addition, you spend much time adoring Jesus-Host ; there cannot be anyone better qualified for such actions…”

Women showing where they live to the Fathers. They are very proud of their children.

 

Then one day, Bishop Zoa sent the two brothers on their new mission, helping these girls, in close collaboration with the “Hermanas Adoratrices” of Columbia: “Go and enter this world of prostitution in Colombia and Latin America. It is the Church that sends you ! Keep me well informed…”

A new evangelisation took place in this community of « ill-loved » women from the streets, to retake the expression of Jean Paul II. Christian communities were born with and around the “Hermanas Adoratrices”. Rather than talking about humanisation and of new societies, it was necessary to lay the first stone for those desperately needy by first: “helping these women earn a decent living by giving them the means to carry out a real job, giving them the opportunity to have a decent place to live, helping them to raise their children by enrolling them into schools.”

Learning a real job to get out of the hell of the street is mere happiness.

 

 “By praying, simultaniously reading the Bible and with the humble fraternal charity of the Sisters, many women have been given a taste for God and felt the desire to discover more of him in their own lives by discovering the Church through their action, all in the name of the young people. We found that these girls were not only in the need to be loved by God, but also needed to abandon themselves to the Virgin Mary because they have never before experienced true maternal tenderness.”

Praying Mary in one of the Sisters’homes


Adoring Jesus-Host in Columbia

The reality of our faith has always marked us : « The continuing presence of Jesus- Host living in every one of the Sisters’ houses. The chapel is open to all women and girls who come. Jesus is there to welcome them and he says to them: “I know all that you have suffered and that you are still suffering. I do not judge but I love you. The day you will know how to work, then I will tell you my child, be a normal woman.”

Sisters’workshops  in Bogotá


 

“ The Eucharist, the Mass and the presence of Jesus, supreme Act of Love of the Son of the Father is for us, a true and real sacrament and is prophetic. He gives us life and allows us to express our love for Jesus and for our brothers. Facing the wall of prostitution, an impenetrable wall, thick, harder than bronze, there is only one way to break through it : our silent prayer before Jesus. Our prayer with him, by constantly repeating His prayer to Him: The Our Father…constantly with Jesus who addresses his Father, we have to repeat before the Eucharist : “Father Thy Kingdom come in darkness, that thy will be done in the heart of all those who exploit women and that hallowed be Thy Name in the hearts of all these poor people, to whom you have promised your Kingdom.”

View of Juan José Rondon, a whole district built up by the Sisters Adoratrices owing to the financial help of the Association “Un pas avec les Frères Jaccard”

Today, thanks to you and with the help of the Association “Le P.A.S.”, 138 workshops have been established in three countries : Columbia, Ecuador and the Dominican Republic. Every year, more than 3000 women are being trained by the sisters in order to learn a trade. During this time, their children go to school and receive everything needed to continue their studies. In addition, with the support of the sisters (especially through their cooperative construction and buying), a new neighbourhood has emerged in Bogotá, San José Rondon, where a few dozen women, through their work and with the help of the Sisters were able to buy a small house, which they can improve gradually.

Father Raymond with a group of young girls after a Mass at one of the Sisters’homes

« With Jesus, who speaks to the Father, we can transform the world from sin into a new world, as the Gospel says : “ Without me you can do nothing. Yes, this is true because Nothing is impossible with God.” The angel’s cry to Mary, gives us hope and makes us sing : MAGNIFICAT!

 (Extracts from texts written by the Brothers Jaccard)

Father Pierre with a group of Senior Sisters

« Les vrais regards d’amour sont ceux qui vous espèrent ».

Eucharistie en Colombie

Eucharistie en Colombie

Le 16 février 1987 à Rome, notre Saint Pape, Jean Paul II, s’adressait aux deux frères par la phrase suivante : « Allez leur dire que l’Eglise et moi, nous les aimons ».

Neuf ans auparavant avait commencé au cœur des rues de Bogotá la mission des Frères pour aider les Sœurs Adoratrices de Colombie à sortir les jeunes filles et femmes de l’enfer de la prostitution.

Le père Pierre avec quelques filles dans une rue de Bogotá

Vue d’une rue à Armenia, après un tremblement de terre. On voit les sœurs au fond

Le père Talvas, créateur du Nid en France en 1943, exprime à propos des frères : « Parmi les prêtres que je connais, vous êtes bien les plus prêts pour aider ces personnes. Votre vie avec les lépreux, tout aussi pauvres et rejetés par la société, c’est la meilleure école de formation ! Plus encore, vous êtes des hommes d’adoration, il n’y a pas mieux pour ce service … »

Les jeunes femmes en apprentissage chez les Soeurs Adoratrices sont fières de présenter leurs logis et surtout leurs enfants aux Pères Pierre et Raymond

 

C’est Mgr. Zoa qui les enverra peu après pour leur mission auprès des filles et en étroite collaboration avec les Sœurs Adoratrices de Colombie : « Je vous envoie dans ce milieu de la prostitution de Colombie et d’Amérique Latine. C’est l’Eglise qui vous envoie. Tenez-moi bien au courant… »

Une nouvelle évangélisation, pour reprendre l’expression de Jean Paul II se met en place dans ce milieu de femmes mal-aimées de la rue. Des communautés chrétiennes naissent autour et avec les Sœurs Adoratrices. Avant de parler d’humanisation ou de nouvelles sociétés, il fallait parer au plus pressé : « aider ces femmes à gagner leur vie honorablement en leur donnant les moyens d’exercer un vrai travail, leur donner la possibilité d’avoir un logement décent et d’élever leurs enfants en les scolarisant. »

Un sourire qui en dit long sur le bonheur d’apprendre un métier pour sortir de l’enfer de la rue …

 

« Simultanément le témoignage de la prière, de la lecture de la Bible et de l’humble charité fraternelle des Sœurs ont donné à des groupes des femmes le goût de Dieu et le désir de le trouver dans leur propre vie en découvrant l’Eglise au service des petits. Nous avons trouvé dans ces filles non seulement le besoin d’être aimées par Dieu, mais aussi de s’abandonner à la Vierge Marie parce qu’elles n’ont jamais connu une vraie tendresse maternelle. »

Hommage à Marie dans une des maisons des Sœurs Adoratrices

Temps d’Adoration en Colombie

Une réalité de foi nous a toujours marqués : « La permanence de la présence de Jésus -

Hostie vivant dans chaque maison des Sœurs. La chapelle est ouverte à toutes les femmes et filles qui viennent chez elles. Jésus est là pour les accueillir et leur dire : « Je connais tout ce que tu as souffert et ce que tu souffres encore. Je ne te juge pas mais je t’aime. Quand tu sauras travailler, alors je te dirai mon enfant, va et sois une femme normale. »

Atelier de couture à Bogotá

Le père Pierre visite un des ateliers

« L’Eucharistie, messe et présence de Jésus, Acte suprême de l’Amour du Fils pour son Père et pour nous, est vraiment un sacrement réel et prophétique. Il nous donne la vie et nous permet d’exprimer notre amour pour Jésus et pour nos frères. Devant le mur de la prostitution, un mur infranchissable, épais, plus dur que l’airain, un seul moyen nous est donné qui puisse le faire éclater : notre prière silencieuse devant Jésus. Notre prière avec Lui, en répétant sans cesse Sa prière à Lui : Le Notre Père… Sans cesse avec Jésus qui s’adresse à son Père, nous avons à redire devant l’Eucharistie : « Père que ton règne vienne dans les ténèbres, que ta volonté soit faite dans le cœur de tous ceux qui exploitent ces femmes et que Ton Nom soit sanctifié dans le cœur de tous ces pauvres à qui tu as promis ton Royaume. »

Vue du quartier de Juan José Rondon, construit par les Sœurs et grâce à l’aide du P.A.S. à Bogotá

C’est ainsi qu’aujourd’hui, grâce à vous et à l’aide du P.A.S., 138 ateliers ont vu le jour dans trois pays : Colombie, Equateur et République Dominicaine. Chaque année, plus de 3.000 femmes sont en formation auprès des sœurs pour apprendre un métier. Pendant ce temps leurs enfants vont à l’école et reçoivent tout le nécessaire pour pouvoir continuer leurs études. Egalement, avec l’entraide des sœurs (en particulier leur coopérative de construction et d’achat), un nouveau quartier à vu le jour à Bogotá, San José Rondon, où quelques dizaines de femmes, grâce à leur travail et avec l’aide des Sœurs, ont pu acheter une petite maison qu’elles améliorent petit à petit.

Le père Raymond avec des adolescentes à la maison des Sœurs Adoratrices

« Avec Jésus, qui s’adresse à son Père, nous pouvons transformer le monde du péché en un monde nouveau, évangélique : « Sans moi vous ne pouvez rien faire ». Oui, c’est vrai car « Rien n’est impossible à Dieu ». Ce cri de l’ange à Marie fonde notre Esperance et nous fait chanter : MAGNIFICAT ! »

(Propos recueillis à partir de textes écrits par les Frères Jaccard)

Le père Pierre avec un groupe des Sœurs Adoratrices lors d’une retraite des Sœurs aînées.